WIPL 2023 Auction: BCCI earns record INR 4669.99 crores; MI, RCB & DC bag teams’ ownerships

Posted On / /
  • WIPL will be known as the Women's Premier League.

  • Adani Group registers the highest bid for the Ahmedabad franchise.

WIPL 2023 Auction: BCCI earns record INR 4669.99 crores; MI, RCB & DC bag teams’ ownerships
MI, RCB & DC bag teams' ownerships in Women's Premier League auction (Image Source: Twitter)

The auction to purchase teams in the upcoming Women’s Premier League took place on Wednesday (January 25), where reportedly a total of 17 bidders participated. This list of bidders included team owners from the men’s Indian Premier League (IPL) and a few other business houses.

The owners of IPL teams Mumbai Indians (MI), Delhi Capitals (DC) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), as well as the Adani Group and Capri Global, have won bids to own the five sides in women’s IPL, which will be known as Women’s Premier League. The teams will be based in Mumbai, Delhi, Bengaluru, Ahmedabad and Lucknow, respectively.

In the auction, held in Mumbai earlier today, the winners were identified after opening sealed bids that fetched the BCCI a record sum of INR 4669.99 crore (USD 572.78 million approx). The Ahmedabad team was sold for the highest price: INR 1289 crore (USD 158 million approx), followed by Mumbai (INR 912.99 crore/USD 111 million approx), Bengaluru (INR 901 crore/USD 110 million approx), Delhi (INR 810 crore/USD 99.35 million approx) and Lucknow (INR 757 crore/USD 92.85 million approx).

List of successful bidders and price:

  • Adani Sporstline Pvt. Ltd (Ahmedabad) – INR 1289 crores
  • Indiawin Sports Pvt. Ltd (Mumbai) – INR 912.99 crores
  • Royal Challengers Sports Pvt. Ltd (Bengaluru) – INR 901 crores
  • JSW GMR Cricket Pvt. Ltd (Delhi) – INR 810 crores
  • Capri Global Holdings Pvt. Ltd (Lucknow) – INR 757 crores

Notably, the Indian cricket board recently earned a big sum from selling the women’s IPL media rights, which were bagged by Viacom 18 for INR 951 crore (USD 116.7 million approx.) for five years between 2023 and 2027.

“Today is a historic day in cricket as the bidding for teams of inaugural #WPL broke the records of the inaugural Men’s IPL in 2008! Congratulations to the winners as we garnered Rs.4669.99 Cr in total bid. This marks the beginning of a revolution in women’s cricket and paves the way for a transformative journey ahead not only for our women cricketers but for the entire sports fraternity. The #WPL would bring necessary reforms in women’s cricket and would ensure an all-encompassing ecosystem that benefits each and every stakeholder. The @BCCI has named the league – Women’s Premier League (WPL). Let the journey begin….” tweeted BCCI secretary Jay Shah.

TAGS: , ,


About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@womencricket.com or get in touch with him on linkedin.