Bangladesh name 15-member squad for Women’s T20 World Cup 2023

Posted On / /
  • Bangladesh unveil squad for the Women's T20 World Cup 2023.

  • As many as four Under-19 players have been picked in the outfit.

Bangladesh name 15-member squad for Women’s T20 World Cup 2023
Bangladesh announce Women's T20 World Cup squad (Image Source: Twitter)

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB), on Saturday, has announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming Women’s T20 World Cup 2023, scheduled to take place in South Africa in February.

As many as four under-19 players have been picked in the outfit. Shorna Akter, Disha Biswas, Marufa Akter, and Dilara Akter were all part of the national team during the tour of New Zealand. Notably, these four cricketers are currently taking part in the inaugural edition of the ICC Women’s Under-19 World Cup.

The likes of Rabeya, Sanjida Akther Maghla, Fargana Hoque Pinky, and Sharmin Akter Supta have been named as Standy By players.

“We formed the team thinking about the format, and the format is T20, and we will be playing in South Africa. The Under-19 World Cup is currently played in South Africa, and after that, our women’s national team’s T20s will be played,” said Women’s Selector Monjurul Islam in an official statement.

“There are a few young performers like Under-19 skipper Disha, Dilara, Shorna and Marufa, and they are performing there. They (three Under-19 players) have been with us during the tour of New Zealand, and along with them, we have included experienced campaigners as well. We have formed the team keeping the condition in mind,” Monjurul added.

Nigar Sultana will be captaining Bangladesh in the global showpiece event. On the team announcement, Sultana said she is hopeful her troops will do well in the multi-team tournament.

“The team is well balanced, and there are lots of young talented cricketers in the squad, and along with them, there are couples of experienced campaigners in the team as well, so I am hopeful with the team,” said Nigar.

Bangladesh squad for Women’s T20 World Cup:

Nigar Sultana Joty (Captain), Marufa Akter, Dilara Akter, Fahima Khatun, Salma Khatun, Jahanara Alam, Shamima Sultana, Rumana Ahmed, Lata Mondol, Shorna Akter, Nahida Akter, Murshida Khatun, Ritu Moni, Disha Biswas, Sobhana Mostary
Stand By Players: Rabeya, Sanjida Akther Maghla, Fargana Hoque Pinky, Sharmin Akter Supta


CATEGORY: Bangladesh, T20 World Cup

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or get in touch with him on linkedin.