Lisa Griffith

VIDEO: Commentators & players left stunned with third umpire’s controversial decision

The WBBL|03 got off to a brilliant start on Saturday with Sydney Thunder and Melbourne Renegades taking the match right to the wire.

After Thunder posted a mammoth total of 200 runs in their 20 overs, Melbourne gave them a run for their money in the second innings by coming agonizingly close.

Jessica Duffin

Had Renegades’ Jese Duffin been not sent to the pavilion controversially in the 17 over, the outcome might have been different.

The hard-hitter was in supreme touch and smashed 12 fours and a six before she attempted a cheeky reverse sweep that went to Thunder’s Lisa Griffith at the short third man, who claimed the catch.

Lisa Griffith catch WBBL

Duffin was at 81 runs from 47 balls and with the Renegades standing at 173 runs with three overs to go, Thunder’s total looked easily gettable. The umpires went upstairs for confirmation as they didn’t want to take any risk with the game at such a crucial point.

However, the video reviews from various angles suggested that the ball had touched the turf. The fielders were sure that the decision would go to Duffin’s favour and were preparing to resume the innings before the third umpire adjudged her out.

Commentators and players on the field were left stunned by the decision and lately, the game went on to the last ball where Renegades eventually fell 11 runs short.

Here’s the video:

LOVED it? LIKE it!



This article was first published on CricketTimes.com.
For latest cricket news and updates, visit https://crickettimes.com or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!

Rashpal is a T20 commentator at home and passionate traveler. He loves writing about cricket during his free time. You can write to him at [email protected] or get in touch with him on facebook.