Women’s Big Bash League Season 3: Complete Squads Of All 8 Clubs

Posted On / /
Women’s Big Bash League Season 3: Complete Squads Of All 8 Clubs

The Women’s Big Bash League, or WBBL, is the premier women’s Twenty20 competition in the world, boasting some of the best players from all over the world.

Entering its third season, the WBBL has already begun to take off, with coverage increasing from year to year and players from more countries becoming involved in the competition.

WBBL|01 was won by the Sydney Thunder, who beat their cross-town rivals, the Sydney Sixers, in a last-ball thriller in the final at the MCG.

WBBL|02 saw the Sydney Sixers avenge their defeat, though they did so against the Perth Scorchers at the WACA.


The WBBL is contested between the same eight franchises which comprise the men’s Big Bash League: Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder.

Each club has signed a squad of 15 players, including five current or recent Southern Stars and up to three other international players.

Squads for the 2017/18 season have been finalized and the tournament is scheduled to start from December 9.

Adelaide Strikers

Adelaide Strikers WBBL

Current squad: Rhiannon Dick, Annie O’Neil, Ellie Falconer, Tammy Beaumont (Eng), Suzie Bates (NZ), Sophie Devine (NZ), Megan Schutt, Amanda Wellington, Samantha Betts, Tahlia McGrath, Katelyn Pope, Alex Price, Tabatha Saville, Tegan McPharlin, Bridget Patterson

Ins: Suzie Bates (Scorchers), Rhiannon Dick (Sixers), Ellie Falconer, Annie O’Neill

Outs: Sarah Coyte, Charlotte Edwards, Sarah Elliot, Shelley Nitschke (all retired)

Brisbane Heat

Brisbane Heat WBBL

Current squad: Beth Mooney, Jess Jonassen, Deandra Dottin (WI), Holly Ferling, Kara Sutherland, Georgia Prestwidge, Delissa Kimmince, Jemma Barsby, Haidee Birkett, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Tess Cooper, Laura Harris, Kirby Short, Courtney Hill, Laura Wolvaardt

Ins: Grace Harris (Renegades), Laura Wolvaardt

Outs: Smriti Mandhana, Grace Harris (injury)

Hobart Hurricanes

Hobart Hurricanes WBBL
Current squad: Corinne Hall (C), Emma Thompson, Erin Fazackerley, Brooke Hepburn, Georgia Redmayne, Veronica Pyke, Katelyn Fryett, Celeste Raack, Sasha Moloney, Veda Krishnamurthy (Ind), Lauren Winfield (Eng), Meg Phillips, Stefanie Daffara, Nicola Hancock, Hayley Matthews

Ins: Veda Krishnamurthy, Lauren Winfield, Stefanie Daffara (Thunder), Nicola Hancock

Outs: Erin Burns (Sixers), Julie Hunter (retired), Amy Satterthwaite (Renegades), Heater Knight (injured)

Melbourne Renegades

Melbourne Renegades WBBLCurrent squad: Amy Satterthwaite (C) (NZ), Molly Strano, Sophie Molineux, Jess Duffin, Leah Tahuhu (NZ), Hayley Jensen, Emma Inglis, Maitlan Brown, Claire Koski, Georgia Wareham, Chamari Atapattu (SL), Tayla Vlaeminck, Kris Britt, Rhiann O’Donnell, Jennifer Taffs

Ins: Jess Duffin (Stars), Hayley Jensen (Stars), Amy Satterthwaite (Hurricanes), Emma Inglis (Stars), Claire Koski (Thunder), Chamari Atapattu (SL), Rhiann O’Donnell, Jennifer Taffs

Outs: Grace Harris (Heat), Rachel Priest (Thunder), Nicole Goodwin, Kirsty Lamb, Natalie Plane, Annabel Sutherland (Stars), Dannielle Wyatt, Amy Yates

Melbourne Stars

Melbourne Stars WBBL
Current squad: Kristen Beams (C), Makinley Blows, Hayleigh Brennan, Mignon du Preez (SA), Georgia Elwiss (Eng), Nicole Faltum, Emma Kearney, Alana King, Anna Lanning, Lizelle Lee (SA), Katie Mack, Erin Osborne, Gemma Triscari, Chloe Rafferty, Annabel Sutherland

Ins: Mignon du Preez, Georgia Elwiss, Lizelle Lee, Erin Osborne (Thunder), Nicole Faltum, Chloe Rafferty, Annabel Sutherland (Renegades), Kristen Beams (injured)

Outs: Jess Duffin (Renegades), Hayley Jenson (Renegades), Meg Lanning (Scorchers), Morna Neilsen, Natalie Sciver (Scorchers), Emma Inglis (Renegades), Lily Bardsley, Danielle Hazell

Perth Scorchers

Perth Scorchers WBBL
Current squad: Nicole Bolton, Katherine Brunt (Eng), Meg Lanning, Elyse Villani, Megan Banting, Mathilda Carmichael, Piepa Cleary, Lauren Ebsary, Heather Graham, Mikayla Hinkley, Emma King, Chloe Piparo, Natalie Sciver (Eng), Emily Smith, Katie Hartshorn

Ins: Mikayla Hinkley (Thunder), Meg Lanning (Stars), Natalie Sciver (Stars)

Outs: Suzie Bates (Strikers), Emma Bliss, Anya Shrubshole

Sydney Sixers

Sydney Sixers WBBL
Current squad: Ellyse Perry (C), Sarah Aley, Erin Burns, Lauren Cheatle, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Jodie Hicks, Marizanne Kapp, Carly Leeson, Emily Leys, Sara McGlashan, Ange Reakes, Lauren Smith, Dane Van Niekerk, Clara Iemma

Ins: Erin Burns (Hurricanes), Lauren Cheatle (Thunder), Clara Iemma

Outs: Rhiannon Dick (Strikers), Lisa Sthalekar, Haylee Hoffmeister

Sydney Thunder

Sydney Thunder WBBL
Current squad: Alex Blackwell (C), Sam Bates, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Maisy Gibson, Lisa Griffith, Rachael Haynes, Rachel Priest, Naomi Stalenberg, Harmanpreet Kaur, Rachel Trenaman, Hannah Trethewy, Belinda Vakarewa, Rene Farrell, Stafanie Taylor

Ins: Lisa Griffith, Rachel Priest (Renegades), Rachel Trenaman, Hannah Trethewy, Hannah Darlington

Outs: Stef Daffara (Hurricanes), Mikayla Hinkley (Scorchers), Claire Koski (Renegades), Erin Osborne (Stars), Lauren Cheatle (Sixers)

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Featured, News, T20

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@womencricket.com or get in touch with him on twitter.